Mobile version. Acronyms are explained below. All times Eastern and PM, except where obvious. As of 12/07/2009 01:42:21 AM -0800 .








New Mexico Bowl Dec. 19 Albuquerque, NM 4:30 ESPN MWC #3/4 WAC Wyoming Fresno State
St. Petersburg Bowl Dec. 19 St. Petersburg, FL 8:00 ESPN C-USA #2/3/4/5 Big East #5/6/ND Central Florida** South Florida
New Orleans Bowl Dec. 20 New Orleans, LA 8:15 ESPN Sun Belt #1 C-USA #2/3/4/5 Troy** Southern Miss
Las Vegas Bowl Dec. 22 Las Vegas, NV 8:00 ESPN MWC #1 Pac-10 #4/5 Utah Oregon State
Poinsettia Bowl Dec. 23 San Diego, CA 8:00 ESPN MWC #2 Pac-10 #6/WAC BYU California
Hawaii Bowl Dec. 24 Honolulu, HI 8:00 ESPN C-USA #2/3/4/5 WAC SMU* Nevada
Little Caesars Pizza Bowl Dec. 26 Detroit, MI 1:00 ESPN MAC Big Ten #7 Ohio MTSU?
Car Care Bowl Dec. 26 Charlotte, NC 4:30 ESPN ACC #5/6/7 Big East #3/ND North Carolina Pittsburgh
Emerald Bowl Dec. 26 San Francisco, CA 8:00 ESPN ACC #5/6/7 Pac-10 #4/5 Boston College Stanford
Music City Bowl Dec. 27 Nashville, TN 8:15 ESPN SEC #6/7 ACC #5/6/7 Kentucky Clemson
Independence Bowl Dec. 28 Shreveport, LA 5:00 ESPN2 Big 12 #7 SEC #8 Texas A&M Georgia
EagleBank Bowl Dec. 29 Washington, D.C. 4:30 ESPN ACC #8 Army/C-USA Bowling Green? Marshall
Champs Sports Bowl Dec. 29 Orlando, FL 8:00 ESPN ACC #4 Big Ten #5 Miami Minnesota
Humanitarian Bowl Dec. 30 Boise, ID 4:30 ESPN WAC MWC #5 Idaho Northern Illinois?
Holiday Bowl Dec. 30 San Diego, CA 8:00 ESPN Pac-10 #2 Big 12 #3 Arizona Nebraska
Armed Forces Bowl Dec. 31 Fort Worth, TX 12:00 ESPN MWC #3/4 C-USA #2/3/4/5 Air Force** Houston
Sun Bowl Dec. 31 El Paso, TX 2:00 CBS Pac-10 #3 Big 12 #5 Southern Cal Texas Tech
Texas Bowl Dec. 31 Houston, TX 3:30 ESPN Big 12 #8/C-USA Navy Iowa State Navy**
Insight Bowl Dec. 31 Tempe, AZ 6:00 NFL Big 12 #6 Big Ten #6 Missouri Michigan State
Peach^ Bowl Dec. 31 Atlanta, GA 7:30 ESPN ACC #2 SEC #3/4/5 Virginia Tech Tennessee
Outback Bowl Jan. 1 Tampa, FL 11:00 ESPN Big Ten #3 SEC #3/4/5 Wisconsin Auburn**
Gator Bowl Jan. 1 Jacksonville, FL 1:00 CBS ACC #3 Big East #2/ND Florida State West Virginia*
Capital One Bowl Jan. 1 Orlando, FL 1:00 ABC SEC #2 Big Ten #2 LSU** Iowa
Rose Bowl Jan. 1 Pasadena, CA 5:00 ABC BCS (Big Ten #1) BCS (Pac-10 #1) Ohio State** Oregon**
Sugar Bowl Jan. 1 New Orleans, LA 8:00 FOX BCS (SEC #1) BCS (At-large) Florida Boise State
International Bowl Jan. 2 Toronto, ON, CA 12:00 ESPN2 MAC Big East #4 Temple Connecticut
Cotton Bowl Jan. 2 Arlington, TX 2:00 FOX Big 12 #2 SEC #3/4/5 Oklahoma State* Mississippi** Bowl Jan. 2 Birmingham, AL 2:00 ESPN Big East #5/6 SEC #9 Rutgers South Carolina*
Liberty Bowl Jan. 2 Memphis, TN 5:30 ESPN C-USA #1 SEC #6/7 East Carolina Arkansas**
Alamo Bowl Jan. 2 San Antonio, TX 9:00 ESPN Big 12 #4 Big Ten #4 Oklahoma Northwester
Fiesta Bowl Jan. 4 Glendale, AZ 8:00 FOX BCS (Big 12 #1) BCS (At-large) Penn State TCU
Orange Bowl Jan. 5 Miami, FL 8:00 FOX BCS (ACC #1) BCS (At-large) Georgia Tech** Cincinnati
GMAC Bowl Jan. 6 Mobile, AL 7:00 ESPN MAC ACC #9 Central Michigan UCLA?
BCS Championship Game Jan. 7 Los Angeles, CA 8:00 ABC BCS #1 BCS #2 Alabama Texas

Teams 6-6 or better that need at-large bids: UL-Monroe (6-6), UL-Lafayette (6-6)

Old predictions
Past years: 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999

BCS Selection Process for 2007-2010:
The order of selection is as follows:
1. The top 2 teams go to the national title game and conference champs of the Big Ten, Big 12, ACC, Pac-10, and SEC go to their games.
2. The bowls that lose their automatic qualifiers get to replace them first. (The bowl that would have the #1 team goes first.)
3. The remaining bowls pick automatic qualifiers and at-large teams in the reverse order when they will be played (so, this year, the order is Orange, Fiesta, and then Sugar).

What is an automatic qualifier? Well, here are the criteria (in order):
1. You finish in the top two of the standings.
2. You are the champion of the ACC, Big East, Big Ten, Big 12, Pac-10, or Southeastern Conference.
3. You are a the champion of C-USA, the MAC, the MWC, the Sun Belt, or the WAC and you:
    a) Are ranked in the top 12
    b) Or are in the top 16 and ranked above a team that qualifies under rule 2.
    No more than one team meeting these provisions may get an auto-berth and the highest ranked team gets it.
4. Notre Dame will qualify if they are ranked 8th or higher.
5. If the 3rd ranked team has not earned an automatic berth by this point and there are less than 10 qualifiers, then that team gets it as long as no team in its conference is in the national title game.
6. If the 4th ranked team has not earned a berth by this point and there are less than 10 qualifiers, then that team gets it as long as no team in its conference is in the national title game.

If there are fewer than 10 automatic qualifiers, then any team in the top 14 with at least 9 wins can be picked as an at-large team.


The supposed ACC bowl selection criteria (warning, PDF; as of August 2008). I checked this year's media guide and it hasn't changed.

Overall eligibility: The NCAA Postseason Handbook (warning, PDF; as of October 2008) specifies that a school must be a 6-6 or better to qualify for a bowl. The handbook also specifies that any team with a winning record must be picked before a 6-6 team, both for conference contractual obligations and for at-large picks. Also, only one DI-AA (a.k.a. FCS) team counts towards a team's record. Therefore, schools that played two DI-AA teams this year (like Georgia Tech) must go at least 7-5 to be bowl eligible. Also, if a team schedules a game at Hawaii as a 13th game, this game does count towards the 6-win requirement, but it must have a winning record against DI-A teams. This year, this applies to Cincinnati, Washington State, and to Hawaii itself.
Also, there is what I call the "Sun Belt Rule", which states that 6-6 teams are eligible for bowls if they were conference champions and said champion is contractually obligated to go to a bowl.

1 = Sun Belt to the rescue! For 2008 and 2009, the Sun Belt will be the first source of back up teams for the following bowls: St. Petersburg,, and the Independence Bowl. Effectively, the St. Petersburg and bowl get Sun Belt #2/3 and the Independence gets Sun Belt #4. I have verified in this year's media guide this arrangement will continue for 2010.

?=at-large because some conference couldn't fill its bids
* = Accepted invitation
** = Predicted correctly
^ = now known as the Chick-fil-a Bowl
A team in bold indicates that I predicted the winner correctly
A team in italics means that team won the game, but was not who I picked
A bold score means that I actually managed to pick the score correctly